Insert title here


Andhra Pradesh is a land of many rivers and lakes and it is popularly referred as the "Riverine State". There are 40 major, medium and minor rivers in the state, of which Godavari, Krishna and Pennar are prominent rivers in peninsular India. All these rivers carry 2765 TMC of water annually at 75% dependable yield. Out of 40 rivers 15 rivers are interstate rivers. Out of these the Krishna and Godavari river waters are covered by the Tribunal Awards. The Bahudha, Vamsadhara, Nagavali, Palar, Ponniar river waters are covered by the Agreements among basin states.

The Ministry of Water Resources formulated a National Perspective for Water Development in August 1980. The National perspective Plan comprises of two components, namely

I. Himalayan Rivers Development and
II. Peninsular Rivers Development

The broad approach adopted in the National Perspective is given below.

I. Existing uses have been kept undisturbed.
II. The development envisaged is within the framework of all the existing agreements between the States.
III. While planning iInter basin and Inter-State transfer of Water, reasonable needs of the basin States for the foreseeable future have been kept in view and provided for.
IV. Most efficient use of land and water in the existing irrigation and hydro-power Stations has been kept as the principal objective to be achieved.

The National Water Development Agency (NWDA) was set up in July 1982 as registered Society to carryout the water balance and other Studies on Scientific and realistic basis for optimum utilisation of water resources of the Peninsular Rivers system for preparation of feasibility reports and thus to give concrete shape initially to the Peninsular Rivers Development component of the National Perspective Plan and the Himalayan Rivers Development Component was added later.Click here for more...