Dam Rehabilitation and Improvement Project
- DRIP - Phase-II and III

The Dam Rehabilitation and Improvement Project (DRIP) is an initiative being undertaken by the Central Water Commission (CWC), Government of India with World Bank Loan assistance with the funding pattern 70:30 (World Bank : State Share) for general category states to improve the safety and performance of selected existing Dams and associated appurtenances and to strengthen the dam safety institutional set up in the participating and implementing agencies and states. There is no central grant in the scheme and it is a back to back loan arrangement.

DRIP consists of four main components:

Component I : Rehabilitation and Improvement of Dams
Component II : Institutional Strengthening
Component III : Project Management
Component IV : Revenue Generation through Incidentals

In April 2012, the CWC with loan assistance from the World Bank, embarked on the six year DRIP for assisting dam - owning agencies in rehabilitation in rehabilitating select dams across selected states namely Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Jharkhand (DVC) and Uttarakhand (UJVNL) under DRIP-I.

In order to build on the significant progress of DRIP-I in promoting the sustainable operation and maintenance of Major dams and ensuring the safety of population on downstream, The Government of India is currently working on proposals for DRIP-II.

Presently, 18 states and two central Organisations are included to be a part of DRIP-II Phase-II & Phase-III. The Implementing States are Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. The two Central Implementing Agencies are the Central Water Commission (CWC) and the Bhakra Beas Management Board (BBMB).

Out of the 69 gated projects of Andhra Pradesh, 31 projects are now included in DRIP-II Phase-II & Phase-III with a total cost estimate of Rs. 776.500 crores. The time line is 10 years (April 2020- March 2030) with overlapping period of two years i.e. DRIP II Phase-II (April 2020 - March 2026) and DRIP II Phase-III (April 2024 - March 2030).

DRIP II - Phase II
Sl. No Name of the Project Location
1 Pampa Reservoir Annavaram (East Godavari District)
2 Gundlakamma Reservoir Maddipadu (Prakasam District)
3 Thammileru Project Chintalapudi (West Godavari District)
4 Rallapadu Project Kandukuru (Prakasam District)
5 Sir Arthur cotton Barrage Rajahmundry (East Godavari District)
6 N.S.R.S.S.P. (Srisailam Project) Srisailam (Kurnool District)
7 Somasila Reservoir Somasila (SPSR Nellore District)
8 Yerrakalava Project Jangareddy Gudem (West Godavari District)
9 Yeleru Reservoir Project Yeleswaram (East Godavari District)
10 Raiwada Reservoir Project Devarapalli (Visakhapatnam District)

Sl. No Name of the Project Location
1 Gotta Barrage (V amsadhara Project) Hiramandalam (Srikakulam District)
2 Thatipudi Reservoir Project Gantyada (Vizianagaram District)
3 Thandava Reservoir Project Golugonda (Visakhapatnam District)
4 Konam Reservoir Chedikada (Visakhapatnam District)
5 Andra Reservoir Mentada (Vizianagaram District)
6 Pedderu Reservoir Visakhapatnam (Visakhapatnam District)
7 Kovvadakalva Project Polavaram (West Godavari District)
8 GMT Jalleru Reservoir Buttaigudem (West Godavari District)
9 Owk Reservoir complex OWK (Kurnool District)
10 Chitravathi Balancing Reservoir Lingala (YSR Kadapa District)
11 Bhairavanithippa Project Gummagatta (Ananthapuramu Disrict)
12 Velugodu Balancing Reservoir Velugodu (Kurnool District)
13 Sanjeevaiah Sagar Project (Gajuladinne Project) Gonegandla (Kurnool district)
14 Alaganuru Balancing Reservoir Midthur (Kurnool district)
15 Sri kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy Barrage (Sunkesula Project) Sunkesula (Kurnool District)
16 Cheyyerru Project (Annamayya Project) Rajampeta (YSR Kadapa District)
17 Veligallu Project Galiveedu (YSR Kadapa District)
18 Mylavaram Reservoir Jammalamadugu (YSR Kadapa District)
19 Chennarayaswami Gudi Project Tanakallu (Ananthapuramu District)
20 Midpennar Stage-1 Garladinne (Ananthapuramu District)
21 Penna Ahobilam Project (Dr.K.S.P.A.B.R. Project) Kuderu (Ananthapuramu District)